3 Mar

Searching and Servitude

Step 4: “[to make]… a searching and fearless moral inventory of [myself].”

I am loving the providential collision of Ash Wednesday and Step 4. Sometimes God is smarter than I give Her credit for. On Ash Wednesday I purposefully clothe myself in black. I bask in the dirge of Lent and attend my own funeral. It is my utmost treasured liturgical season of the Christian year.

Photo on 2013-02-13 at 14.22 #5

It always has the best timing. My life’s “fit-hits-the-shan” before each Lent rolls around, it seems, and I am reminded to slow down and get a little perspective. I love the re-orientation of Lent.

I hit up the noon service at St. Andrews Episcopal Church in Maryville. I sat in the quiet stillness of a sanctuary unfamiliar to me. I held a well-worn and tattered copy of the Book of Common Prayer, fingered through yellowed pages, and kneeled as I murmured alongside others. At…

View original post 66 more words

Leave a Reply

